Five Northeast Kentucky high school football players and six regional coaches have received honors from their respective districts from the Kentucky Football Coaches Association.

Raceland’s Conner Hughes, Fleming County’s Austin Trent, Greenup County’s Tyson Sammons, Lawrence County’s Dylan Ferguson and Rowan County’s Byron May are each the player of the year in their respective counties.

Raceland’s Michael Salmons, West Carter’s Daniel Barker, Lewis County’s Gene Peterson, Greenup County’s Zack Moore, Lawrence County’s Alan Short and Boyd County’s Evan Ferguson were also recognized as Coaches of the Year in their respective counties.

Hughes has caught 25 passes for 506 yards and eight touchdowns, scored four and made 37 tackles and two interceptions for Raceland. The Salmons-managed Rams were due to play in the state semifinals for the sixth time in ten seasons on Friday night and, going 12-1 into that game, the Raceland clubs had already achieved the most wins in school history in 2008 and 2021. The Rams won that honor in Class A, District 6.

In Class 3A, District 7, Sammons rushed for 1,672 yards and 25 touchdowns, passed for 1,395 yards and nine points, and made 46 tackles. He also had a pick six.

Moore led Greenup County in his senior year at the helm of the Musketeers (8-5) to their first third-round playoff game since 2007 and their first eight-win season since 1998.

In Class 3A, District 8, Ferguson rushed for 1,160 yards and 19 touchdowns and returned a fumble for a score. Short’s Bulldogs beat defending champions Belfry for the first time in 20 years en route to the district title, winning seven straight games in a 9-3 finish.

Trent rushed for 1,788 yards and 19 TDs and made 111 tackles — eight losses — to pen the Class 3A, District 6 Player of the Year.

Peterson led Lewis County 6-5 to their first winning season in nine years. The Lions are up four wins from last year.

May made 62 tackles, a staggering 24 for a loss and 17 sacks, and brought back two interceptions on the house to earn the Class 4A, District 6 Player of the Year award for the Vikings.

Ferguson officiated the Lions’ first district championship since 2008 in an 8-4 campaign.

Barker’s Comets went 2-9 but lasted through a difficult campaign that began with his own hospitalization and also included the midseason death of a Comet, Brent King. West Carter, through it all, managed to qualify for the playoffs as No. 4 in Class 2A, District 8.

The county’s player of the year is Dylan Burdine of East Ridge. He threw for 2,079 yards and 20 touchdowns and ran for 756 yards and six points.

Among other districts involving teams from Northeast Kentucky, Middlesboro’s Cayden Grigsby is named Player of the Year and Breathitt County’s Kyle Moore was named Class 2A District 7 Coach of the Year, and Letcher County Central won the Class 4A, District 8 honors Jonah Little and Junior Matthews as player and coach of the year respectively.

Grigsby passed for 1,475 yards and 17 TDs and rushed for 1,089 yards and 17 points.

Thrown little for 1,210 yards and 13 touchdowns and carried for 1,744 yards and 32 drives to pay dirt.