South Dakota fell to Sam Houston in the Palms Division championship game with a final score of 80-49. The Bearkats remain undefeated 6-0 while South Dakota moves to 3-3 this season.

The Coyotes got off to a good start and took a 7-2 lead early on after a layup AJ Plitzuweit four minutes into the game. After that, Sam Houston increased the pressure and began forcing South Dakota into turnovers and hard hitting. The Bearkats started at 1:42 p.m. with an 11:0 run and never gave up the lead. South Dakota managed to reduce the lead to two with a fastbreak layup Paul Bruns with less than six minutes at halftime. Sam Houston then continued another run and extended his lead to 14 by the end of the half.

The halftime break didn’t slow the Bearkats as they continued to pile up to take a 21-point lead just four minutes into the second half. Sam Houston led as much as 33 points in the second half and walked away as the Palms Division champion.

SHSU had two players who scored in their 20s to lead the offensive effort. Cameron Huefner came off the bench and scored 22 points on 9-of-11 shooting. He also sank all four of his three-point attempts. Voted MVP of the tournament, Donte Powers scored 20 points on 7/9 from the floor and made 4/5 from the three-point line. As a team, Sam Houston shot 56 percent from the floor and 58 percent from three.

For South Dakota, Bruns was the only Coyote in double digits with 12 points. He went 5 of 9 off the floor and did two threes. Mason Archambault scored nine points in the loss and added three steals. Archambault was assigned to Sam Houston’s leading scorer Qua Grant for most of the game, holding Grant to five points and forcing three turnovers. Archambault was named to the All-Tournament Team after scoring 28 points and a total of seven steals throughout the tournament.

South Dakota stays on the road for the week, racing alongside Coastal Carolina on Saturday. This game is scheduled for a pick at 2pm ET from Conway, South Carolina.

Fort Myers Tip-Off All-Tournament Team

Donte Powers, Sam Houston (MVP)
Cameron Hufner, Sam Houston
RJ Greene, LIU
Keshawn Williams, Northern Illinois
Mason ArchambaultSouth Dakota